Board of Selectmen Reorganize, Shapiro to Chair

Selectmen reorganized at May 14 meeting.


The Westwood Board of Selectmen reorganized at Monday night's meeting, naming Phillip Shapiro as chairperson for the coming year and former chair Patrick Ahearn as clerk.

The new roles carried little in shock value, as it is board tradition that the selectman in the second of his or her three-year term serves as chair. Reorganization always occurs in the first meeting following . The selectman in his or her third year serves as clerk.

"It does take some of the surprise out of it," said Ahearn as he switched seats with Shapiro.

Shapiro thanked Ahearn for his accomplishments as chair in the last year, which included transitioning town employees to a new health insurance plan, increasing the town's operating budget, overseeing the implementation of a new town website and general oversight of the ongoing process of building the .

Fourth-term selectman Nancy Hyde will serve as the board's Third Member after spending last year as Clerk.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »